skip to Main Content

County social service programs may provide no-fee adoption and foster care services for county residents. If you choose to work with a public agency you must work with the agency in your county of residence. Most agencies will give you basic information over the phone, and some will mail out an information packet or invite you to an information meeting. Most agencies will require you to participate in pre-adoptive/foster parent preparation classes. Below is a alphabetical listing of the 87 county social services agencies in Minnesota.

Public AgenciesLocation
Aitkin County Social ServicesAitkin
Anoka County Human ServicesAnoka
Becker County Human ServicesDetroit Lakes
Beltrami County Human ServicesBemidji
Benton County Human ServicesFoley
Big Stone County Human ServicesOrtonville
Blue Earth County Human ServicesMankato
Brown County Family ServicesNew Ulm
Carlton County Human ServicesCloquet
Carver County Community ServicesChaska
Cass County Human ServicesWalker
Chippewa County Family ServicesMontevideo
Chisago County Human ServicesCenter City
Clay County Human ServicesMoorhead
Clearwater County Human ServicesBagley
Cook County Social ServicesGrand Marais
Cottonwood County
(Des Moines Valley Health and Human Services)
Crow Wing County Social ServicesBrainerd
Dakota County Human ServicesApple Valley
Dodge County
(Minnesota Prairie County Alliance)
Douglas County Human ServicesAlexandria
Faribault County
(Faribault & Martin County Human Services
Blue Earth
Fillmore County Human ServicesPreston
Freeborn County Human ServicesAlbert Lea
Goodhue County Human ServicesRed Wing
Grant County Human Services
(Western Prairie)
Elbow Lake
Hennepin County Child/Family ServicesMinneapolis
Houston County Social ServicesCaledonia
Hubbard County Human ServicesPark Rapids
Isanti County Human ServicesCambridge
Itasca County Human ServicesGrand Rapids
Jackson County
Des Moines Valley Health and Human Services
Kanabec County Human ServicesMora
Kandiyohi County Human ServicesWilmar
Kittson County Human ServicesHallock
Koochiching County Human ServicesInternational Falls
Lac Qui Parle County Social ServicesMadison
Lake County Human ServicesTwo Harbors & Silver Bay
Lake of the Woods CountyBaudette
LeSueur County Human ServicesLeCenter
Lincoln County
(Southwest Health & Human Services)
Lyon County
(Southwest Health & Human Services)
Mahnomen County Human ServicesMahnomen
Marshall County Social ServicesWarren
Martin County Human ServicesFairmont
McLeod County Social ServicesGlencoe
Meeker County Human ServicesLitchfield
Mille Lacs County Human ServicesMilaca
County Human Services
Little Falls
Mower County Health and Human ServicesAustin
Murray County
(Southwest Health & Human Services)
Nicollet County Social ServicesSt. Peter
Nobles County Human ServicesWorthington
Norman County Human ServicesAda
Olmsted County Human ServicesRochester
Otter Tail County Human ServicesFergus Falls
Pennington County Human ServicesThief River Falls
Pine County Health & Human ServicesSandstone
Pipestone County
(Southwest Health & Human Services)
Polk CountyMcIntosh
Pope County
(Western Prairie)
Ramsey County Community Human ServicesSt. Paul
Red Lake County Human ServicesRed Lake Falls
Redwood County Human ServicesRedwood Falls
Renville County Human ServicesOlivia
Rice County Human ServicesFaribault
Rock County Human Services
(Southwest Health & Human Services)
Roseau County Human ServicesRoseau
St. Louis County Public Health and Human ServicesDuluth
Scott County Human ServicesShakopee
Sherburne County Social ServicesElk River
Sibley County Human ServicesGaylord
Stearns County Human ServicesSt. Cloud
Steele County
(Minnesota Prairie County Alliance)
Stevens County Human ServicesMorris
Swift County Human ServicesBenson
Todd County Human ServicesLong Prairie
Traverse County Human ServicesWheaton
Wabasha County Human ServicesWabasha
Wadena County Social ServicesWadena
Waseca County
(Minnesota Prairie County Alliance)
Washington County Community ServicesStillwater
Watonwan County Social ServicesSt. James
Wilkin County Social ServicesBreckenridge
Winona County Human ServicesWinona
Wright County Human ServicesBuffalo
Yellow Medicine County Family ServicesGranite Falls
Back To Top
Skip to content
Share via
Copy link